Lenten Sacrifice?

As a practicing Catholic, I always celebrate Lent by sacrificing something. In the past I have given up sweets, soft drinks and even bread.  This year, I have decided to do something different. Instead of giving something up, I am going to use this opportunity to kick-start my Gluten-Free, Casein-Free lifestyle. As in…the lifestyle I should have been living for months. Last October my doctor prescribed a very strict diet and exercise program to combat a few health issues, especially my diagnosed intolerance to gluten.  I experimented with the diet, but have eventually found myself eating more gluten than not.  As a result, I have been sick, feeling sluggish and not 100%. As a business traveler with a very busy schedule, this is no longer acceptable or convenient.  In fact, I am sick and tired of being sick and tired. Therefore, Lent is a way of opening a new chapter in my life and following the prescribed “rules.”  This means that beginning tomorrow my dietary lifestyle is as follows:

  • No Gluten or Casein
  • No sweets (defined as candy, cake or cookies), even those without gluten or casein
  • No soft drinks (including diet drinks)
  • No fried foods
  • No alcohol, soy or corn (for the first 60 days)
  • I will take ALL of my prescribed supplements
  • I will follow the prescribed meal plan (5 or 6 meals per day)
  • Exercise 6 out of 7 days a week (including yoga/Pilates, weight training and walking)

This lifestyle is by no means meant to be a weight-loss plan.  Rather, it is a plan to help me deal with, and recover from the physical damage of, gluten intolerance and its subsequent health issues.  As you might imagine, this is going to be very difficult, but hopefully very worthwhile.  As a way of keeping me accountable, you will be seeing more posts about nutrition and fitness. Feel free to give me advice (and encouragement).  Are you giving up anything for Lent?

6 thoughts on “Lenten Sacrifice?

  1. Theresa R. says:

    planned to give up cupcakes until my mother accused me of trying to put one over on God. So, I broadened the scope to “sweets” and added cheese. Had a cup of queso for dinner because I will miss it dearly.

  2. Shundea says:

    Not Catholic, so I am not giving up anything. But as an admitted cookbook whore, I will tell you about every gluten free cookbook and/or recipe that crosses my path.

Leave a Reply

