2011 ConocoPhillips Rodeo 10K

Julie and I woke up early this morning to run in the 2011 ConocoPhillips Rodeo 10K. You might remember that we ran this race last year with Jamie, our cousin.  While last year’s race was chilly, this year’s race was humid…but oh so fun. Dare I say this is one of my favorite races?  Why, you ask?  Is it the costume contest?

Or is it the band (This year it was the University of Houston band)?

Or is it the HEB Buddy mascot?

Or is it the celebrity Grand Marshall (This year it was Clay Walker!)?

Or is it the contents of my after-race swag bag?

I think the answer is “Yes” to every one of those questions! The only thing missing was fireworks! :mrgreen: During the run my right hamstring was super-tight. It was so painful, but I pushed through.  I finished in 58:10 (9:21 pace) — 2 minutes and 50 seconds slower than last year. I suppose that isn’t bad, but I need to figure out what is wrong with my leg. Yikes! After the race, we made a quick trip to HEB (we had to support our race sponsor) and then met John for lunch at Pico’s Mex Mex. Running 6.2 miles made me feel less guilty about eating this!

If you are looking for a 10K to run next year, please consider this one.  The race registration fees go towards student scholarship funds! You can burn calories and help students – Score! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

