The Superbowl & Shelly’s GFCF Brownies

After a 2 hour delay, I finally made it home yesterday. When I got home I literally collapsed on the couch and went into a 2 hour nap coma. It was Epic! Even still, I was super tired this morning when my alarm went off at 6:00 AM. Why such an early wake-up call? Well, I had a date…with the Fred Hartman Bridge. 

…and Julie, Cathy, Maggie and Jennifer. We met this morning to run 9 miles, including an over and back of the bridge. It was a great run on a beautiful day. My glutes, however, are super sore and are questioning the need for such a tough workout! Fred Hartman Bridge = Crazy Inclines.

After the run, Julie and I drove over to Ricardo’s for breakfast. Guess who we ran into? My Parents! And the Benavides family! Awesome! And the food was good too…although yes, I was terribly sick later. 😳

After an afternoon of errands and work, it was time for some football. Since John and I were having a low-key affair, we had limited, but still yummy, food options. I filled my plate with a small frito pie, guacamole dip, green chile queso and blue corn chips. 

Oh, and we also had gluten-free, casein-free brownies!

The game was good, but the food, commercials and Puppy Bowl were even better! :mrgreen:

Shelly’s GFCF Brownies

  • 1 16 oz. jar nut butter
  • ½ cup Eggbeaters
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons Mexican vanilla extract
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips 72% cacao

Blend nut butter until smooth using a stand mixer. Blend in eggbeaters, and then blend in agave and vanilla. Blend in cocoa, salt and baking soda, and then fold in chocolate chips. Grease a 9 x 9 baking dish (I use Pam) . Pour batter into dish and bake at 325° for 35-40 minutes.

Cool, cut and enjoy! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

