CHL

While I was in Austin this week, I did it. Yes…I took a class to get my Concealed Handgun License. Set up by a friend, our class was full of lobbyists who, like me, were eager to apply for their CHL. Long story short, a CHL gives you an express pass past the long security lines at the Capitol. In other words…it gives you a time advantage. And, as a busy traveler, I am all about that!

I am also very big on personal responsibility and learning to defend one’s self. While this class was only 11 hours of instruction, I do believe it provided a great foundation for to me build upon in terms of gun safety, self-defense and self-confidence.  In addition to academic training, we were also tasked with passing a proficiency shooting exam. Yikes! 😳 I am proud to say, however, that I passed with flying colors. For those interested, I took my test using a Sig P228. It looked like this…

And my inspiration during the training was this…

OK, not really, but you get the idea.  I feel much better after taking the class and the express pass at the Capitol will be an added bonus. I intend to take addition gun safety/self defense courses and am strongly considering the purchase of a hand gun. Seriously. If you are interested in taking a class, please let me know. I know a wonderful teacher! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

