And the Results are in…

About a month ago I submitted myself for DNA testing. We were specifically testing to see if I was a carrier for Celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.  The results finally came in! Here are the key points:

  • Although I do not possess the main HLA-DQB1 genes predisposing to celiac sprue (HLA-DQB1*0201 or HLA-DQB1*0302), HLA gene analysis reveals that I have two copies of a gene that predisposes to gluten sensitivity (any DQ1, DQ2 not by HLA-DQB1*0201, or DQ3 not by HLA-DQB1*0302).
  • Having two copies of a gluten sensitive gene means that each of my parents and all of my children (if I have them) will possess at least one copy of the gene.
  • Two copies also means there is an even stronger predisposition to gluten sensitivity than having one gene and the resultant immunologic gluten sensitivity may be more severe.

So, the good news is that I do not have celiac disease.  The bad news is that I have two copies of a gene that predisposes to gluten sensitivity and will have to remain on a gluten-free diet. Sigh. 😦 At least I know now, right?

Leave a Reply

