Sunday Eats

After a great night’s sleep, I woke up and pounded out 6 miles.  The weather was cool and crisp and the neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. Total Zen.  After a quick shower, I went to Massage Envy for a massage.  Yay. Afterwards it was time for brunch.  On the menu?  PLT’s! :mrgreen:  Know what the P is for?

Pancetta! Yum! Check out my sandwich.

So tasty. While I was making lunch I also made dinner. Actually, I set things up so my slow cooker could make dinner – chicken tortilla soup!

Slow Cooker Tortilla Soup

  • 1.5 pounds of lean chicken breasts
  • 1 15 ounce can of black beans, drained
  • 1 15 ounce can of corn, drained
  • 1 28 ounce can of Rotel tomatoes
  • 1 48 ounce box of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • bunch of fresh cilantro, diced
  • shredded cheese
  • Tortilla chips
  • Avocado, diced

Put all ingredients, except the chips, cilantro, cheese and avocado, in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.  Once cooked, you may add the chips, cilantro, cheese and avocado, if desired.  Now, this is not the best picture in the world, but here is a sad picture of my soup.

Trust me, it tastes WAY much better than it looks! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

