Family Sunday

Due to several miscalculations, I had to defer my 20 mile run and instead hit the gym for 60 minutes on the elliptical.  Once I got home I became a cleaning machine! Specifically, I tackled:

  • my office closet
  • guest bedroom
  • bathrooms
  • laundry room
  • and kitchen cabinets.

I don’t know what is wrong with me, but I have been in an organizing mood! Perhaps this is what happens when you watch too many episodes of Hoarders? 😳 Anyhow, after a while my parents came over for “Family Sunday.”  As much as it is possible, we all try to get together for a meal or a few hours every Sunday to catch up as a family.  I really treasure this time and realize that I am very lucky to be able to do this. I know, cue the sappy music! 😆 So, yesterday was special because my Mom cooked a birthday lunch for John! Now, if you don’t already know, my Mom is a GENIUS in the kitchen.  Her meals are amazing and I never have to ask twice to get John to drive to Baytown for my Mom’s cooking.  On the menu? Per John’s request, Carne Guisada, Beans and Rice.  Just look at this.

Culinary Heaven.  My Mom also made Pan de Monte. 

If you don’t know what that is, it is almost like a flatbread. It’s amazing. Because she is cute, she wrote “Happy Birthday John” with fork pricks on the bread before she put this particular round in the oven.

Like I said, a GENIUS.  Tempting fate, I offered to make dessert.  A German Chocolate cake to be exact. All was well until I started to ice the cake.  My Mom said that you don’t put icing on the sides of the cake (because it is too heavy), but I didn’t listen. The icing immediately started sliding off the sides, down onto the cake stand.  I literally scraped it back on top to take this photo.

Sigh. 😳  At least it tasted good.   Note to Self: Mom is always RIGHT!  Even though the cake was a disaster, the day was wonderful. I love you, Mom and Dad!

4 thoughts on “Family Sunday

  1. TeritaBonita says:

    Ooooh, first of all, tell your mother (both of your parents, actually) that I said hello and hope they are well!
    Second, I need a recipe for this delicious-looking bread product! Do you think Miss Sylvia would share?

    • drcruzarnold says:

      Will do, Teri. I will ask my Mom about the recipe, but will warn you that she uses the “pinch,” “this” and “that” method. Would you be interesting in a Sunday “cooking class” at my house taught by my Mom? I think my Mom would DIG IT! We could learn how to make the bread, along with other awesome things!

Leave a Reply

