Easy Schmeezy Dinner

After a hard day of working in my office and family time (I had lunch with my Mom, Dad and sister in Baytown), all I wanted to do was rest and relax. Unfortunately, I had to pack for my 6 day trip to Washington, D.C. So, when it came to dinner we kept it easy schemeezy. Since I have a bare kitchen and fridge (hey – weren’t going to be here, why be wasteful?) I was working with reserves.  Out came a box of chicken stock (reduced sodium, of course) and frozen mushroom and chicken tortellini to create my Chicken Tortellini Soup. You can alter this recipe to fit your mood and taste (think: add veggies), but tonight I kept it ultra-basic.

Chicken Tortellini Soup

  • 1 container tortellini (frozen/refrigerated works best)
  • 1 32 ounce container chicken stock
  • 16 ounces of water
  • 1 T. basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • grated Parmesan (optional)
  • olive oil, for drizzling (optional)

Pour water and stock into a pot and bring to a boil. Add tortellini and cook until tender – usually 8 minutes. Serve and top with olive oil and cheese, if desired.

Easy schmeezy, no? I wish I were off to sleep, but I am off to continue packing. Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

