Daily Review Cafe

Today I had the pleasure of lunching with Il Divo at the Daily Review Cafe.  This was my first visit to the Cafe, so I was very excited. 

After looking at the menu, I had narrowed my lunch selection to about…10 choices. After talking to the waiter and Il Divo, I ordered the Southern Chicken Fried Chicken. Now, I should point out that Il Divo practically forced me to order this, then he proceeded to order the ever-dainty crab cakes. Thanks, Il Divo! 😉 All said and done, the food was fabulous. 

The chicken fried chicken was delicious – moist and tender while maintaining its integrity on the outside. The breading was perfect and paired nicely with the delicate cream gravy.  The chicken was served with mashed potatoes, black-eyed peas and the corn – although you will notice that I substituted green beans for the corn.  Hey, a girl has got to have her greens! :mrgreen: This was a lot of food and I ended up only able to eat half of the steak and potatoes and all of the green beans.  I am not sure if it was Il Divo’s intoxicating stories or sense of humor, but I paid little attention to the overall ambience of the restaurant. So much so, that I almost didn’t notice 2 friends sitting right next to us. Fortunately, I noticed them and said “hello!” before Il Divo got out-of-hand with his outlandish stories! 😆 I really enjoyed by food and the delightful company. Hopefully I will make it back again soon!

6 thoughts on “Daily Review Cafe

  1. Mandy says:

    Divo sounds like a guy that takes “eating to live” very seriously. There are some food items that are good, but not necessarily good for you.

    Okay, so he had a salad…Does that make him feminine? Of course not. There are guys that will order a Jumbo Jack, 4 tacos and a steak teriyaki bowl from Jack in the Box….or better yet go to Taco Bell and eat a “4th Meal”. However, that doesn’t make them anymore masculine than Divo.

    Come on ladies!…Do you really want to be w/ a guy that wants to super size his meal every time he pulls up in the drive-thru? Or one that orders the porter house steak and pork chop combo when you go to a fine dining establishment? MmmHmm…exactly what I thought.

    Divo sounds like someone who epitomizes healthy living. Is he a personal trainer or something?

    • drcruzarnold says:

      Mandy, Mandy, Mandy. You obviously don’t know Il Divo. Although we are friends, I can share the fact that he is a pusher. And a serious one at that. His attempt to have me add “meat to my bones” also makes me look like a fat-ass at lunch. Do you feel me?

  2. Rachael @ Houston Health Blogs says:

    Hi there, I wanted to tell you about a new blog group I would love for you to be part of, its called Houston Health Blogs. Its a website dedicated to bringing Houston Health Bloggers and Local Houston Readers together on one site. There are lists for local farmers markets, restaurant deals and reviews, maps for local trails, etc. We would love for you to be part of our team, http://www.houstonhealthblogs.com

    Hugs,

    Rachael

Leave a Reply

